Ayutthaya

Visit important temples outside Koh Muang and follow the old city’s community (2)

 
 

Crossing the Chao Phraya River at Kasatrathiraj Bridge near the Siriyalai Royal Residence. Turn left at the foot of the bridge and follow highway no. 3469.

Wat Chai Wattanaram

Relax in the peaceful morning mist after the beauty of yesterday evening.

St. Joseph Church

This vividly colored building on the river bank was constructed out of an old base from the time of King Rama V. The first chapel was raised at the same time as the French village, during the reign of Somdet Phra Narai Maharat. It was later burnt down during the loss of the city in 1767. Under the rule of King Rama V it was renovated by the priests Pa LaCroix and Paix Ros, and a team assisted by an Italian architect, Mr. Joakim Graci.

Wat Phutthaisawan

According to some Royal Chronicles, King U-Thong ordered the construction of this temple on the area called “Wiang Lek”, which was his home before crossing over to establish Ayutthaya city. The layout reflected the style popular in the early Ayutthaya period; a large wihan in front of a principle prang and an ubosot to the rear.

Protugese Village

Gaze upon the ruin of an ubosot that was once the center of the Portuguese community in the age of Ayutthaya. In the past, this temple was called St. Dominic, or San Domico. The building was divided into three parts. The front part was the cemetery, the middle served as a ceremonial area and a cemetery for the priests, while the back part was used as the living quarters. Many antiquities were found on the grounds, such as skeletons at San Petro cemetery, pipes, coins, pottery and religious paraphernalia. Over 200 skeletons are on display at the exhibition for historical and archeological study.